You are viewing Allergic Living Canada | Switch to United States

Talking Allergies

* FAQ    * Search
* Login   * Register
It is currently Sun Jan 21, 2018 4:49 pm

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2010 1:44 pm 

Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 11:37 am
Posts: 1526
Location: Alberta
Not sure about this, going to check out next week when it's not so busy. Place near here, Ooooh, wouldn't it be great. DD says "Maybe deserts?" Will be back with info.


Myself - Seasonal, cats
dd-asthma (trigger - flu) anaphylactic to eggs, severe allergies to bugspray and penicilin,pulmicort
ds-Seasonal, cats and OAS
dh-allergy cats, bugspray and guava, outgrew egg allergy

PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2010 3:45 pm 

Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 2:45 pm
Posts: 816
Location: Vancouver, BC
I would check how strict they are about may contains.

When DD turned two, she was allergic to egg/dairy so we ordered a vegan cake. It was covered in crushed cashews, as we didn't know about the peanut and nut allergies then. Turns out only DS is allergic to TN, and he was too young for cake then, but we cringe when we look at the photos. . .

DD 2004 Allergy to peanuts, egg, sesame, and new: lentils and chick peas
DS 2006 Allergy to peanuts, tree nuts, milk, egg, kiwi fruit, eczema

PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2010 6:01 pm 
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 11:17 pm
Posts: 6616
Location: Ottawa
Yes, check but vegan should be OK for egg allergy.

Daughter: asthma, allergies to egg, milk, peanuts, tree nuts, most legumes (not soy and green beans) & penicillin. Developing hayfever type allergies.
Husband: no allergies
Me: Oral Allergy Syndrome, Allergic to Birch trees

PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 5:49 am 

Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 12:49 am
Posts: 122
Location: USA
If they say they are strictly Vegan only, then they won't have any animal products of any kind, including eggs, milk, honey, etc. If they aren't strictly Vegan, then they will have eggs and dairy.

Beware though: Sometimes, people are confused on their terminology.
--> The Lotus Restaurant has a "Vegetarian fried rice" that contains chicken. They insist its vegetarian (I called them on it). It isn't even close!

A Vegan Raw foodist restaurant, like "The Ecopolitan", won't use eggs either or milk. Nuts, "Almond milk" and mustard family is very common in Vegan restaurants however. And cross contamination is possible.

Asthma, SHF, GF, EF, Allergic: Meat, Poultry, Laurel, Mustard, Gras, Mallow, Plantain, Flacourtia, Pine family; ETOH, Vinegars, CremeTartar, Cucumbrs, Fenugrk, Most of Lily, Myrtle, Parsley, Nightshade, Composite familys. Pomgrante, Litchi, Starfrt

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group